Go back

The University Curriculum Committee

     The University Curriculum Committee receives and studies proposed changes in curriculum and makes final recommendations to the President of the University.The Committee may initiate studies of academic and/or curricular concern and make resultant recommendations to the President of the University. It may deliberate and make recommendations relative to curricular and/or academic proposals submitted to it through usual academic offices or by faculty organizations. In addition, the Committee advises on matters which the President may submit to the Council for its consideration.

    The General Education Standing Committee will have the responsibility for ensuring the critical competencies or other university-wide general education outcomes are assessed on a periodic basis and the results are used for improvement of the general education core and achievement. An annual report will be provided to the provost regarding progress in meeting outcomes to instill in students the critical competencies. In addition, the committee will review and vote on all changes and additions to university general education core courses and will advise the University Curriculum Committee of their final decision.

    The University Curriculum Committee meets on the first Wednesday of Oct., Nov., Dec., Feb., March, April, and May at 3 p.m. in University Center, Iris Room. 

APSU Course and Program Development Webpage 

How to Propose Changes to Core  

Meeting Agendas 


APSU Policy 2:011 - Constitution of the University Curriculum Committee 

APSU Policy 2:001 - Curricular Change 

Academic Inventory


Deans/Directors appointed by the President:

Full-time, tenured faculty appointed by the President:

Full Time, Tenured Faculty Elected through Faculty Senate selection process: 

    College of Arts and Letters

   College of Behavioral and Health Sciences

   College of Business

   College of Education

   College of Science and Mathematics

   School of Technology and Public Management

Faculty Senate Representative:

Student Representatives Appointed by Student Government Association:

Ex Officio Members:

The President and Provost are permanent members. The Provost serves as chair.

Term expires at the end of the summer of the year noted by each name.