Go back

Graduate Academic Council

The Graduate Academic Council is the principal body for the establishment of policies and procedures relating to the administration of graduate programs. The purpose of the Graduate Academic Council is to provide for effective participation and deliberation by those concerned with graduate programs.

The Graduate Academic Council (GAC) receives and deliberates additions and amendments to graduate courses and curricula as well as policies/regulations/guidelines impacting graduate programs, and makes recommendations to University Academic Council and/or other University officials. GAC may initiate studies that are concerned with the welfare of graduate programs.

GAC is chaired by the College of Graduate Studies Dean and is comprised of a single representative from each graduate degree program*, a representative from Faculty Senate, a representative from the Office of the Registrar, a representative from the Library, a representative from Financial Aid, two graduate student representatives selected by the GAC chair, and a representative from Office of Student Research & Innovation. Graduate degree program representatives are selected by department chairs. Only faculty representatives from graduate degree programs and the Library have voting privileges. *Should a department have multiple graduate degree programs then the number of representatives will be determined by the Dean of the degree program’s College and the Dean of the College of Graduate Studies.

2017-18 Graduate Academic Council Meetings

Date Time Location
Wednesday, September 20, 2017          3 - 4:30 p.m. MUC, Room 310
Wednesday, October 18, 2017 3 - 4:30 p.m. MUC, Room 310
Wednesday, November 15, 2017 3 - 4:30 p.m. MUC, Room 310
Wednesday, January 17, 2018 3 - 4:30 p.m. MUC, Room 310
Wednesday, February 21, 2018 3 - 4:30 p.m. MUC, Room 310
Wednesday, March 21, 2018 3 - 4:30 p.m. MUC, Room 310
Wednesday, April 18, 2018 3 - 4:30 p.m. MUC, Room 310


GAC Charge

Graduate Program Coordinators

Graduate Academic Council Members

(*)Graduate Appeals Committee Members

Member Email Department
Dr. Ann Assad(*) assadd@apsu.edu Mathematics
Dr. Tara Alvey alveyt@apsu.edu Education
Dr. Robert Baron baronr@apsu.edu Communication
Dr. Michelle Blake blakem@apsu.edu Social Work
Dr. Deborah Buchanan buchanand@apsu.edu Psychology
Dr. John Byrd byrdjl@apsu.edu Engineering Technology
Dr. Joseph Elarde elardej@apsu.edu Computer Science
Dr. Amy Gillick gillicka@apsu.edu Music
Dr. Uma Iyer iyeru@apsu.edu Psychology
Dr. Rebecca Johansen johansenr@apsu.edu Biology
Dr. Matt Jones jonesmatt@apsu.edu Mathematics
Dr. Tim Leszczak (*Chair) leszczakt@apsu.edu Health and Human Performance
Dr. Dan Meyer meyerd@apsu.edu Business
Dr. Bruce Myers myersb@apsu.edu Computer Science
Dr. Barbara Peterson petersonb@apsu.edu Education
Dr. Michelle Robertson robertsonm@apsu.edu Nursing
Dr. Anthony Sanders sandersa@apsu.edu Education
Dr. Daniel Shea shead@apsu.edu Languages & Literature
Dr. Kevin Tanner tannerk@apsu.edu History                              
Dr. Kathryn Woods woodsk@apsu.edu Leadership/Organizational Administration
 

 

Deans/Directors

Member Email Department
Mr. Brad Averitt     
Coordinator
averittb@apsu.edu Graduate Admissions
Dr. Beverly Boggs
Associate Provost
boggsb@apsu.edu Enrollment Management
Ms. Sara Brashears brashearss@apsu.edu Graduate Admissions
Dr. Chad Brooks
Dean
brooksc@apsu.edu Interim Dean of the College of Graduate Studies
Dr. Kristine Nakutis
Executive Director
nakutisk@apsu.edu Fort Campbell Center
Dr. David Denton     
Dean
dentond@apsu.edu College of Behavioral & Health Sciences
Dr. Dixie Webb    
Dean
webbd@apsu.edu College of Arts & Letters
Dr. Prentice Chandler
Dean
chandlerp@apsu.edu College of Education
Dr. Karen Meisch
Interim Dean
meischk@apsu.edu College of STEM
Dr. Charles Moses
Interim Dean
mosesc@apsu.edu College of Business
Mr. Joe Weber(*)   
Director
weberj@apsu.edu Library Services
Dr. Denise Robledo
Director
robledod@apsu.edu Distance Education
Ms. Telaina Wrigley              
Registrar
wrigleyt@apsu.edu Office of the Registrar
Ms. Brandi Clements
Director
clementsbr@apsu.edu  Office of Research and Sponsored Programs
Dr. Erin Lynch-Alexander
Director
lynche@apsu.edu Office of Undergraduate Research
Ms. Caroline Clasby
International Student Recruiter
International Admissions
Ms. Donna Price
Director
Financial Aid
Ms. Catherine Winn
Associate Director
winnc@apsu.edu Registrar
Ms. Amy Corlew
Director
corlewa@apsu.edu Admissions
Ms. Karen Runyon
Office Supervisor
runyonk@apsu.edu Graduate Studies