Go back

AJ Taylor
Distinguished Professorship Awards

The AJ Taylor Distinguished Professorship award recognizes two APSU College of Business faculty members who demonstrate exceptional scholarly work or innovative teaching practices that contribute to the mission of the College.

The endowed gift was provided by alumnus, Larry Carroll, who dedicated the award to former Marketing professor, Dr. Albert J. Taylor, for his legacy of exceptional contributions that
transformed the College of Business.

2022 AJ Taylor Award Recipients

The 2022 recipients are:
Excellence in Teaching: Dr. John Volker, Professor of Management
Excellence in Research: Dr. Tim Self, Assistant Professor of Hospitality

Read the announcement



Award Recipients: 

Dr. John Volker (2023)

Dr. Jennifer Thayer (2022)

Dr. Susan Cockrell (2021)

Dr. Terry Damron (2020)

Dr. Tim Self (2023)

Dr. Matt Hampton (2022)

Dr. Elif Demiral-Saglam (2021)

Dr. Pilsik Choi (2020)


The award was initially established to recognize one faculty member for teaching practices and was later adjusted to include recognition for research. 

2019 Gloria Miller

2018 Gloria Miller

2017 Michael Phillips