Go back

Credit Hour Steering Committee

Membership: Vice Provost and AVP Academic Affairs (chair), Curriculum Coordinator, 3 faculty from different colleges (1 Faculty Senate appointee and 2 others appointed by Provost), 1 Graduate Faculty (appointed by Graduate Academic Council), Department Chair (appointed by Provost), Dean (appointed by Provost), Distance Education (appointed by Director of Distance Education), Registrar, Director of Financial Aid, Vice Provost for Student Achievement, Dual Enrollment (appointed by Provost).

Term of service for Faculty Senate Appointee will be one year, for up to three years. (If a Faculty Senate Executive Committee member is appointed selected, the term would be for one year. If a new Faculty Senator is selected, their term could be one three-year term). The term for the other Faculty, Graduate Faculty, Department Chair, and Dean shall be three years.

Description: The Credit Hour Steering Committee develops guidelines and resources to support APSU Credit Hour policy (2:064), which aligns with SACSCOC Policy and US Department of Education regulations. The Credit Hour Steering Committee oversees the credit hour reviews conducted at the University, analyzes the results of the reviews, and makes recommendations to academic departments, the University Curriculum Committee, and the Office of Academic Affairs.  In addition, the committee advises the Office of Academic Affairs on the process by which syllabi will be reviewed per the Credit Hour Policy (2:064)

(Approver: Provost/SVPAA)

2021-2022 Membership:

Name Area Department Service Term*
Lynne Crosby, Chair Academic Affairs Academic Affairs ex officio
Jasmine O'Brien Academic Affairs Academic Affairs ex officio
Susan Cockrell Faculty, CoB Accounting, Finance and Economics 2020-2023
John Blake Faculty, CoSTEM Engineering Technology 2020-2023
Michelle Robertson Faculty, CoBHS School of Nursing 2020-2023
Jackie Vogel Graduate Faculty, CoSTEM Mathematics and Statistics 2020-2023
Nicole Knickmeyer Chair, CoBHS Psychological Science and Counseling 2020-2023
Barry Jones Dean, CoAL CoAL 2019-2022
Anna Carrie Webb Distance Education Distance Education 2019-2022
TBD Registrar Office of the Registrar ex-officio
Donna Price Director, Financial Aid Student Financial Aid & Scholarships ex-officio
Nancy KingSanders VP/Student Achievement Student Success ex-officio
Jeannette Tippett Director Dual Enrollment 2021-2024

*Appointment is September through August
If you have questions, concerns or would like more information about the Credit Hour Steering Committee, please contact:

Lynne Crosby, Chair
Email: crosbyl@apsu.edu