Go back

Diversity Committee

Diversity Strategic Plan 2016-2021

Membership: 6 Faculty, one from each college and one from the Library, 2 students, director of Hispanic cultural center (ex officio), director of African American cultural center (ex officio), director of study abroad and international exchange, director of admissions, representative from financial aid (ex officio), director of equal opportunity and affirmative action (ex officio) liaison of academic affairs (ex officio), coordinator of the military student center (ex officio), director of human resources, associate director of disability services, coordinator for Hispanic cultural center (ex officio), chief diversity officer (ex officio), 1 community member (ex officio). Faculty members will serve a three-year term and can serve two consecutive terms. When consecutive terms have been served, a three-year break must occur before serving again.

Description: The committee is responsible for developing strategies to attract and retain a diverse student body and to recruit, retain, advance, recognize, and promote a diverse faculty and staff. The committee recommends diversity related programs and initiatives, and review and assesses data. The committee should also develop strategies to encourage interaction among the university’s diverse groups to enrich the educational experience and to prepare leaders to live and work in a competitive global community. Finally, the committee should seek to provide guidance to the university community regarding ways of incorporating diversity in substantive and significant ways into teaching, learning and research.

(Approver: President)

Name Area Department Service Term
Marcus Hayes, Chair Faculty, CoAL Theatre and Dance 2018-2021
Charmaine Lowe Faculty, CoE Teaching and Learning 2020-2023
Jessica Fripp Faculty, CoBHS Nursing 2018-2021
Erik Haroldson Faculty, CoSTEM Geosciences 2019-2022
Jenny Harris Faculty, Library Research and Instruction 2018-2021
Dennis Pearson Faculty, CoB Accounting, Finance, and Economics 2019-2022
Jared Little Student Student Representative  2020-2021
Brandon Morris Student Student Representative 2020-2021
Miguel Ruiz-Aviles Director Hispanic Cultural Center ex officio
Harold Wallace, III Director African American Cultural Center ex officio
Marissa Chandler Director Study Abroad & International Exchange 2020-2021
Amy Corlew Director Admissions 2020-2021
Sheila Bryant Director Equal Opportunity and Affirmative Action ex officio
Maria Cronley Provost and Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs Academic Affairs ex officio
Fonda Fields Director Human Resources 2020-2021
Jamie McCrary Director Disability Services 2020-2021
Jasmin Linares Coordinator Military Student Center  ex officio
Yanaraliz Barnes Coordinator Hispanic Cultural Center ex officio
LaNeeca Williams Campus Diversity Chief Diversity Officer ex officio
Donna Price Director Financial Aid Representative ex officio
Jimmie Garland Community Member – President NAACP jimmie.garland@hotmail.com

ex officio

If you have questions, concerns, or would like more information about the Diversity Committee, please contact: 

Marcus Hayes, Chair
Email: Hayesm@apsu.edu