Go back

General Education Standing Committee

Membership: All members of the committee will be appointed by the provost in consultation with the deans and faculty senate president. 

Membership includes 2 faculty from the college of arts and letters, 2 faculty from the college of science, technology, engineering, and mathematics, ensuring that one faculty member will be from the math department; 2 faculty from the college of behavioral and health sciences; 1 faculty from college of business; 1 faculty from college of education; 1 faculty from the library, and 1 faculty from Faculty Senate. Membership also includes faculty coordinators for each general education competency, which are appointed by the provost in consultation with the deans. The committee is led by 2 co-chairs drawn from faculty members on the committee and recommended by the Provost. 1 dean from one of the academic colleges will serve as ex-officio. The committee also includes 2 non-voting committee advisors-Senior Vice Provost and Associate Vice President Academic Affairs and Director of Institutional Effectiveness and Assessment, as well as 1 non-voting representative from each of the following areas, appointed by the provost: student success, curriculum, institutional research, and student government.

Terms of Service: Members will serve three-year terms and can serve two consecutive terms. When consecutive terms have been served, a three-year break must occur before serving again.

Description: The general education committee reviews and votes on all changes and additions to university general education courses and general education policies.  Decisions of the General Education Committee on courses and policies require additional review and vote of the University Curriculum Committee and other bodies, as required by university policies and procedures.  

The General Education committee is also responsible for overseeing the assessment of university-level general education competencies, including communication with faculty teaching general education courses; review and approval of assessment plans for general education courses; meta-analysis of data on student learning for each competency; and review, approval, and communication of action plans based on general education assessment results. An annual report will be provided to the provost regarding progress in assessing and improving student  learning related to the university-level general education competencies. The chair of this committee is responsible for preparing documents and/or presentations for the pre-semester calendar.  This committee may convene during August.

(Approver: Provost/SVPAA)

2023-2024 Membership:

Name Area Department Service Term*
Marisa Sikes, co-chair Faculty, CoAL Written Communication 2021-2024
Kakali Chakrabarti,, co-chair Faculty, CoAL, Oral Communication Pillar Coordinator Oral  Discipline Communication 2022-2025
Dzavid Dzanic Faculty, CoAL History and Philosophy 2021-2024
Jenny Harris Faculty, Library Woodward Library 2023-2026
Victoria McCarthy Faculty, CoB Management & Marketing 2021-2024
Erik Haroldson Faculty, CoSTEM  Earth and Environmental Sciences 2023-2026
Nicholas Kirby Faculty, CoSTEM Mathematics and Statistics 2023-2026
Emily Pica Faculty, CoBHS Psychological Science and Counseling 2022-2025
Sarah Whiteford Faculty, CoBHS Criminal Justice 2023-2026
Adam Attwood Faculty, CoE Education Specialties 2022-2025
John Phillips Faculty, CoBHS, Critical Reasoning Pillar Coordinator Political Science 2021-2024
Katherine Honea Faculty, CoAL, Global Perspective Pillar Coordinator Languages and Literature 2021-2024
Barbara Lee Gray Faculty, CoAL Languages and Literature 2022-2025
Kristen Sienkiewicz Faculty, CoAL Music 2019-2025
Amanda Wornhoff Committee Advisor Director, Institutional Effectiveness and Assessment

ex officio

Tucker Brown Committee Advisor Senior Vice Provost and Associate Vice President Academic Affairs Permanent 
ex officio
Buzz Hoon Dean, CoAL CoAL Permanent
 ex officio
Keely Mohon-Doyle Faculty, CoAL, Written Communication Pillar Coordinator CoAL 2022-2025

*Appointment is September through August 

If you have questions, concerns or would like more information about the General Education Standing Committee, please contact:

Marisa Sikes, Co-chair
Email: sikesm@apsu.edu or
Kakali Chakrabarti, Co-chair
Email: chakrabariik@apsu.edu