Go back

Residency Appeals Committee

Membership: 5 Faculty, 1 Staff, 2 Students and 3 ex officio (Coordinator of Graduate Admissions, Director of Admissions and Registrar (or their designee). Members will serve a three-year term and can serve two consecutive terms.  When consecutive terms have been served, a three-year break must occur before serving again.

Description: The committee has the responsibility for assisting the Office of Admissions in the determination of student residency status of any student when a question arises concerning this matter. As part of the APSU residency appeals process, the committee may be utilized by the Director of Admissions to assist in the review of applications of students who may not meet the stated admissions requirements for the university. If the Director of Admissions calls on this committee, and the committee chooses to waive certain aspects of the requirements, it may do so. The committee will meet at least once at the beginning of each semester; convening prior to Spring, Spring II, Summer, Fall and Fall II semesters as necessary. Additionally, the committee may meet at other times as necessary.

(Approver: Provost/SVPAA)  

2021-2022 Membership

Name Area Department Service Term*
Dawn Michelle Rogers Faculty, CoSTEM Biology 2021-2024
Stephen Kershner Faculty, CoAL Languages & Lit 2021-2024
Wansoo Kim, Chair Faculty, CoAL Art + Design 2020-2023
Megan Kienzle Faculty, CoBHS Criminal Justice 2020-2023
Mary Dalton Faculty, CoSTEM Mathematics and Statistics 2020-2023
Jawaun Rogers Staff, Student Affairs Programs and Special Events 2020-2023
Abbylynn Thompson Student Student Representative 2021-2022
Michelle Park Student Student Representative 2020-2022
Megan Mitchell Enrollment Management Coordinator of Graduate Admissions ex officio
Amy Corlew Enrollment Management Director of Admissions ex officio
Patrice Cheatham Enrollment Management Assistant Registrar on behalf of the Registrar

ex officio

*Appointment is September through August

For more information, contact:

Wansoo Kim, Chair