Go back

Research Council 


     The Research Council (RC) monitors the research environment of APSU and deliberates additions and amendments to policies/regulations/guidelines impacting research activities and/or APSU employees engaged in research. The RC may initiate studies that are concerned with the welfare of research and advises the University in matters concerned research. The RC may engage in additional responsibilities as determined by the RC chairperson. 


     The RC is chaired by the Associate Provost for Research and is comprised of representatives from each college (2 CoB, 2 CoE, 3 CoAL, 3 CoBHS, and 3 CoSTEM), a representative from Faculty Senate, a representative from the Office of Research and Sponsored Programs (ORSP), a representative from the Library, and a representative from the Office of Student Research and Innovation. At least one of the representatives from each college should have strong affiliations with a graduate program within the college. Only faculty representatives will have voting privileges. 

 2021-22 Research Council Meetings

Date Time Location
Tuesday, September 21, 2021      3 - 4:00 p.m. Virtual, ZOOM
Tuesday, October 26, 2021 3 - 4:00 p.m. Virtual, ZOOM
Tuesday, November 30, 2021 3- 4:00 p.m. Virtual, ZOOM
Tuesday, January TBD, 2022 3 - 4:00 p.m. Virtual, ZOOM
Tuesday, February TBD, 2022 3 - 4:00 p.m. Virtual, ZOOM
Tuesday, March TBD, 2022 3 - 4:00 p.m. Virtual, ZOOM
Tuesday, April TBD, 2022 3 - 4:00 p.m. Virtual, ZOOM


Research Council Members

Research Council Coordinator: Kelly Pitts; pittsk@apsu.edu; x7881


College Membership

Dr. Andrea Spofford spofforda@apsu.edu CoAL Languages and Literature  
Dr. Jalesa Parks parksj@apsu.edu CoAL Languages and Literature  
Dr. Paul Collins collinsp@apsu.edu CoAL Art  
Dr. Pilski Choi choip@apsu.edu CoB Management  
Dr. Elif Demiral Saglam demiralsaglame@apsu.edu CoB Accounting  
Dr.Charles Woods woodsc@apsu.edu CoBHS Psy/Counseling  
Dr. Harold Young youngh@apsu.edu CoBHS Political Science  
 Dr. Debra Wilson  wilsondr@apsu.edu  CoBHS Nursing  
Dr. Joanna Zimmerle zimmerlej@apsu.edu CoE Ed Specialties  
Dr. Amy Tondreau tondreaua@apsu.edu CoE Ed Specialties  
Dr. Stefan Woltmann woltmanns@apsu.edu CoSTEM Biology  
Dr. Roman Holovchak holovchakr@apsu.edu CoSTEM Physics  
Dr. MD Ali Haider haiderm@apsu.edu CoSTEM ENGT  

 Dr. Chad Brooks (*Chair)



Dr. Ellen Brown

Dr. Tim Atkinson













Associate Provost







Faculty Senate Rep

Leah Frazier  frazierl@apsu.edu Faculty Senate Distance Learning  



Barry Jones jonesb@apsu.edu CoAL
Dr. Mickey Hepner hepnerm@apsu.edu CoB 
Dr. Tucker Brown brownt@apsu.edu CoBHS
Dr. Prentice Chandler chandlerp@apsu.edu CoE
Dr. Karen Meisch meischk@apsu.edu CoSTEM


Affiliated Units

Lynne Crosby crosbyl@apsu.edu Academic Affairs, VProvost
Megan Mitchell mitchellm@apsu.edu COGS, Director
Denise Robledo robledod@apsu.edu Distance Learning, Director
David Davenport davenportdl@apsu.edu Diversity, Director
Kristine Nakutis nakutisk@apsu.edu FCC, Director
Stefan Woltmann woltmanns@apsu.edu IACUC, Chair
Eric Norman normane@apsu.edu VP Student Affairs
Harold Young youngh@apsu.edu IRB, Chair
Joe Weber weberj@apsu.edu LIB, Director
Tim Atkinson atkinsont@apsu.edu ORSP, Director
Tim Atkinson dakshinamurthyr@apsu.edu OSRI, Director
Ashlee Spearman spearmana@apsu.edu QEP, Director
Loretta Griffy griffyl@apsu.edu Student Success, AProvost
Amy Corlew corlewa@apsu.edu UG Admissions, Director

 Tammy Bryant         bryantt@apsu.edu           Student Affairs

Jennifer Malotte        malottej@apsu.edu          Campus IT